Brief Moment #60

Genesis.  I have decided that I am going to try to read the Bible in it’s entirety.  I am not sure of the form or method that I will use, but I will be working towards that goal.  This goal is on my Life List.  I have tried to do this numerous times in the past.  I have a read a few complete Books of the Bible, but never attempted to do the whole thing.  I have tried to read Genesis at least three times straight through, and have never finished it once.  That is where I am starting.  The Book of Genesis.  I have currently read 35 chapters of the 50 chapter book, but already I am learning and advancing what I already know about the book.

When I got to the part about Abraham offering Isaac, his one and only son, as a sacrifice to God–it made me tremble.  I just had a daughter.  I was trying to put myself in that spot, trying to picture my reactions.  Would I have turned away from God?  Luckily, God spared Isaac.  Abraham had proved that he feared God enough to sacrifice his first and only son.  He raised his hand with the knife, and God stopped him because of his Faith.  How strong is our Faith that God is in control?  Would we be willing to suffer for our Faith?

2 thoughts on “Brief Moment #60”

  1. Wow. I wish I had that kind of Faith. Faith with a capital “F.” I don’t even know if my brand of faith deserves the lower case “f.” I’m working on it. In fact, I just touched on this in my blog a few minutes ago.

    Regarding the book of Genesis, it is certainly packed with so much from start to finish! Like you, I learned so much the last time I read through it. I learned about God’s Word as well as learned about myself. I should read it again. I tried to read the Bible straight through. I got lost somewhere in Leviticus. 🙂

    1. I think we all have a hard time of letting ‘self’ go and trusting the future. We have been given certain amounts of control, then we learn that God is in control of all. How do we justify our wants with needs? Nobody is perfect. God does place certain things on our heart and allows us to try to change those things in the time that he deems appropriate. Trust in my prayers allows me to have Faith. Seeing prayers answered only reinforces this Faith in me. I look at it like this. The ancient pyramids were built one stone at a time, I think Christians are built in the same fashion. We may not be able to see the finished product yet, only God knows what that is…but we do know that we are moving forward and progressing. If you have Faith and trust in God, you will see results…

Leave a Reply

