Brief Moment #54

I recently wrote about God’s Opportunities in my life and about how I was trying to jump on these opportunities as they came to me.  This was another week of having my paycheck stretched to the limit.  I am sure many of you know that feeling.  Going in to Saturday, I had $20 left over.  I had to make it till Thursday.

While keeping my mind open for God’s opportunities, I was driving home from church Sunday when I noticed someone had a rather large aquarium sitting by the side of the road with a ‘FREE’ sign attached.  I walked up to the house and asked them about it.  They said it was in perfect shape, no leaks.  This aquarium is 55 gallons.  It included the rocks, different fish ornaments, fish food..everything.  A few days ago at work I had walked in to a discussion where a few people were talking about purchasing aquariums.  I sent out a text message.  I got an offer of $20 on it.  I had told them the first person to text me back could have it for $20.   Bingo.  It worked.  A few minutes after I accepted the first offer, I got another for $40.  This was a test and one meant to see how greedy I would be.  Unfortunately I recognized this immediately and stayed true to my word.  A friend now has an awesome aquarium for $20, and I was able to make it through my week.  That was another opportunity that worked out amazingly well.

2 thoughts on “Brief Moment #54”

  1. I’m so glad you’re still seizing those opportunities. Yes, it is all about trust, isn’t it? I love how you saw the temptation test and resisted it.

    And thank you so much for returning the visit to my blog. I’m still getting a handle on how wordpress works … but feel free to add me to your blogroll if you like and I will certainly return the favor as soon as I can get the widget sorted out. haha. 😉

Leave a Reply

