Brief Moment #53

God’s opportunities.  I recently prayed for the Lord to bless my family with opportunities.  We had a water leak in our basement for the last month.  I was afraid to tell our landlord about the situation because we were a little behind on rent.  The water had been leaking for so long that there had gotten to be a few inches of water on our basement floor.  When I woke up yesterday morning, I decided to go downstairs and see what I could figure out about the leak and the mess that the leak caused.  The leak was coming from a back room copper pipe that had split cracked.  I was going through my head on hat could be done to fix the problem.  It was dark.  I decided to get a light and look at it better.  I took the light, looked at the crack, and was thinking, when I just happened to glance around the pipe and notice a shut-off valve on the exact same piece of pipe in question.  I turned it.  I discovered that the only place this water lead was to the outside faucet on the house.  Haha.  I turned it off and the problem was fixed.  Thank-you, Jesus!  No money lost.

The second problem was the water on the floor.  Both drains in the basement were ABOVE the water level.  How would I get all of this water out?  I friend from work suggested renting a shop vac.  That sounded like a good idea.  I came home and told Cassie that I was going to call the tool rental place in town and get a shop vac.  It shouldn’t be more than a few dollars.  She asked me “What for?”.  I told her that she deserved to have a dry basement for doing the laundry in.  She told me that the water had DISAPPEARED!  This water had been on the basement floor for well over a month.  The water level was below the drains so it would just sit and get a little deeper.  God truly blessed my family.  I will never know how this water left my basement, but it is completely dry and yet again, I didn’t have to spend a dime.

I am talking a little about money.  We have been struggling a bit of late.  Not really sinking, but staying steady without much to spare.  We are a couple of weeks behind on rent.  After the basement issue yesterday, my work called and asked if I could come in early.  I didn’t really feel like working and taking time away from my family.  I declined.   An hour later, I had a thought that I had just asked God for opportunities, and then when one was presented, I shunned away.  I was being selfish.  I called my work and got the extra hours.  This put me very close to 40 for the week.  We also got our new schedules for next week.  Before I had the chance to see mine, our General Manager told me that he was sorry about the schedule.  I asked him ‘What for?’  He told me that he had to schedule me EVERY DAY next week to make up for a few vacations that were going on.  I said ‘Why do you appologize?  I need the money and will gladly work the hours!”  Next week I am working 7 days, still have my Sunday schedule for church in tact, and am being blessed with extra hours to help me take care of my family.  Many people are having a hard time finding work.  In the last few weeks, my schedule has gotten better.  Once again, Thank-you Jesus!

It gets better:

After all of this, another manager said that she needed to talk to me.  She said that her and my GM had a discussion about me and that they both agreed that I was the person with the best attitude and work ethics that they had.  She told me to keep working hard, that people are noticing things, and that I might have a great future within the company in short time.  I am not sure what that means, but I am hoping that it will be a blessing in my life.

Yesterday was such a cool day for me!  I could actually see my prayers in action and working.  I decided to take every opportunity that was given my way and see what would happen.  Each of them was a blessing and an answer to my prayers.  I think many times God is wanting the best for us, but we are to selfish to take the opportunities presented.  I am learning to open my eyes and jump, trusting God’s intention for my life.  If we don’t follow through, how do we know what the true blessing will be??  Being a Christian takes some work, but it is suppose too.  Heaven isn’t free, and not everyone will achieve the reward.  It takes patience, perseverance, and a whole lot of trust to walk with God.  I am hoping that I am on the tight track and am finally realizing God’s Will in my life.

3 thoughts on “Brief Moment #53”

  1. I needed to read this today. Thank you for sharing your story. I am working on seizing the opportunities that God places in my life without being blinded by selfishness. And I do believe you are absolutely right about that!! 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by Tersie. I am glad that this post was a positive influence. It is now going on a few days since my Prayer for opportunities. I had a good job prospect come up, and I also had the opportunity to make an extra $20 this week from someone that really needed something that I didn’t any more. That $20 got me through the week and yet again, God has provided for my family. I do believe that much of it falls under Faith. In order for our prayers to work, we have to have faith that they will be answered. God Bless!

    By the way, I stopped by your blog. You have a nice site. Let me know and I will add you to my blogroll. Cheers-

Leave a Reply

