Brief Moment #13

The girls ate so good that I decided that I should get them some ice cream and play with them.  The ice cream lasted about 5 seconds (I think we all ate to much dinner) then it was out the door for some frisbee and ball.  The girls have been practicing playing frisbee with me.  They are finally starting to get to the point where they can throw it good for their ages.  Isabel is seven and Elizabeth is three.  Something special happened tonight, though, that had never happened before.  Neither of the girls have been able to CATCH the frisbee.  I let it fly to Elizabeth and she clapped her hands together and caught it!  Yeah, Elizabee!!  She is three and finally can say that she has done something before her big sister!

After seeing Elizabeth’s amazing catches (she caught it three more times) Isabel got inspired and told me that she wanted to catch it.  I would hold out the frisbee and ask her, “Are you going to catch this thing?”  She would reply, “I hope so, but I don’t know.”  I looked her in the eyes and told her to say, “I WILL catch it.”  She did and laughed.  I lobbed the perfect flight to her and, What do you know!  Isabel caught it!  That made me SO VERY PROUD of her!  Most of these things are just a change in thinking.  I am trying to teach them that by THINKING they can do something, that will enable them to actually do it!  Their faces were both lit and I could tell how excited they were to be able to do something like that.  It was also a good ‘lesson’ moment for me.  I do believe that anyone can do anything they put their minds to.  It may take practice, work, and some effort, but you can get there.

Leave a Reply

